Last month I traveled to Cheyenne to paint a 5 year old boy’s fantasy room.  The assignment from the boy’s grandparents, who commissioned the work, was to paint a dragon mural, but after they saw my capabilities they decided to turn me loose and tell a story.

The result is better than I had hoped.   The dragon realm, visible from the young king’s bed, is a misty mountain lair bridged to his own castle, (the other three walls making up his benevolent stronghold).   Little details enchant his surroundings, and the plan is to add them as he ages, with regard to his defining interests.

I especially love to paint little kids’ rooms.  They are appreciative of any extra effort, and squeal with delight at their transformed surroundings.  Being able to come back to this as the boy grows and add to his room is an honor for me.

